top of page

Thomas Stearns Eliot, A Song for Simeon

Thomas Stearns Eliot

A Song for Simeon

(Traduzione di Loris Maria Marchetti)

*

Lord, the Roman hyacinths are blooming in bowls and

The winter sun creeps by the snow hills;

The stubborn season has made stand.

My life is light, waiting for the death wind,

Like a feather on the back of my hand.

Dust in sunlight and memory in corners

Wait for the wind that chills towards the dead land.

Grant us thy peace.

I have walked many years in this city,

Kept faith and fast, provided for the poor,

Have taken and given honour and ease.

There went never any rejected from my door.

Who shall remember my house, where shall live my children’s children

When the time of sorrow is come ?

They will take to the goat’s path, and the fox’s home,

Fleeing from the foreign faces and the foreign swords.

Before the time of cords and scourges and lamentation

Grant us thy peace.

Before the stations of the mountain of desolation,

Before the certain hour of maternal sorrow,

Now at this birth season of decease,

Let the Infant, the still unspeaking and unspoken Word,

Grant Israel’s consolation

To one who has eighty years and no to-morrow.

According to thy word,

They shall praise Thee and suffer in every generation

With glory and derision,

Light upon light, mounting the saints’ stair.

Not for me the martyrdom, the ecstasy of thought and prayer,

Not for me the ultimate vision.

Grant me thy peace.

(And a sword shall pierce thy heart,

Thine also).

I am tired with my own life and the lives of those after me,

I am dying in my own death and the deaths of those after me.

Let thy servant depart,

Having seen thy salvation.

Thomas Stearns Eliot

Canto di Simeone

*

Signore, i giacinti romani sbocciano nei vasi e

Il sole invernale sbuca dalle colline innevate;

La stagione ostinata si è fermata.

La mia vita è leggera, in attesa del vento di morte,

Come una piuma sul dorso della mano.

La polvere nel sole e la memoria negli angoli

Attendono il vento che agghiaccia verso la terra senza vita.

Concedi a noi la tua pace.

Per molti anni ho camminato in questa città,

Credetti e digiunai, provvedetti ai poveri,

Ho dato e ricevuto onore e agiatezza.

Mai nessuno fu respinto alla mia porta.

Chi ricorderà la mia casa, dove vivranno i figli dei miei figli

Quando verrà il tempo del dolore?

Prenderanno per il sentiero delle capre, verso la tana delle volpi,

Fuggendo i volti stranieri e le spade straniere.

Prima del tempo di catene, di sferze, di lamenti

Concedi a noi la tua pace.

Prima delle stazioni sul monte della desolazione,

Prima dell'ora certa del dolore materno,

In questa stagione di nascita e di morte

Il divino Infante, il Verbo tacente ancora e impronunciato,

Conceda adesso la consolazione d'Israele

A un uomo che ha ottant'anni e che non ha un domani.

Secondo la tua parola.

Ti loderanno e soffriranno, ogni generazione,

Con gloria e scherno,

Giorno dopo giorno, salendo la scala dei santi.

Non per me il martirio, l'estasi di pensiero e preghiera,

Non per me la visione estrema.

Concedi a me la tua pace.

(E una spada trapasserà il tuo cuore,

Anche il tuo).

Sono stanco della mia vita e della vita di chi vivrà dopo di me,

Muoio della mia morte e della morte di chi morrà dopo di me.

Si congedi il tuo servo

Con la visione della tua salvezza.

Post in evidenza
Post recenti
Archivio
Cerca per tag
Seguici
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page